Lunatic (Hardback)

RRP: £14.99
Now £9.95
RRP £14.99
Earn 995 Victory Points
PayPal Later
Pay in 3 interest-free payments on eligible purchases. Learn more

you could earn 994 victory points

[yith_wcwl_add_to_wishlist]
Lunatic' is an unusual and striking graphic novel in the tradition of wordless books by the likes of Frans Masereel, Lynd Ward and William Gropper. Part fable, part classic adventure in the tradition of Jules Verne, H. G. Wells and M©li¬s, the tale is told in nearly 200 full-page, wordless images in a variety of media from pencil, pen and ink, ink wash and paint that lovingly evok…
Read More
Category Tag SKU ZTP-9780993211225 Availability 3+ in stock
Share
Share this

Related Products

Description

Lunatic’ is an unusual and striking graphic novel in the tradition of wordless books by the likes of Frans Masereel, Lynd Ward and William Gropper. Part fable, part classic adventure in the tradition of Jules Verne, H. G. Wells and M©li¬s, the tale is told in nearly 200 full-page, wordless images in a variety of media from pencil, pen and ink, ink wash and paint that lovingly evoke the artistic styles of its period setting, and classic illustrators from Charles Dana Gibson and Toulouse Lautrec to Edward Gorey. The word ‘lunatic’ derives from Latin, meaning ‘of the moon’, or ‘moonstruck’ and in this sense it describes the protagonist of this story: from infancy she develops a magical, almost intimate relationship with the moon itself, a celestial being who acts as her friend, lover, mentor. Our heroine is a dreamer, an outsider, never feeling like she quite belongs to this world. We follow her through the stages of life, infancy, childhood, youth and adulthood, at each point guided by